Sharon Polsky BIS MAPP is President of AMINAcorp.ca, President of the non‑profit Privacy and Access Council of Canada, and a Privacy by Design Ambassador with more than 30 years’ experience advising corporations, governments and organizations about privacy and access implications, and about the unintended consequences of emerging laws, technologies and global trends. She is also a director of the Rocky Mountain Civil Liberties Association and Editor‑in‑Chief of The Winston Report, the foremost quarterly journal of information access, privacy protection and data governance in Canada.

Sharon’s deep understanding of complex data governance issues is evident in her submissions before the Canadian Senate Standing Committee on Legal and Constitutional Affairs, Legislative committees, and Canadian Legislative Committees and Information and Privacy Commissioners addressing implications of proposed legislation.

Ms. Polsky completed a thesis examining the legislation and regulations of Canada and Alberta to identify and assess whether and to what extent individual rights to privacy and to gain access to information is protected or imperilled, and her insights are frequently sought by conference organizers and by media including CTV, CBC, CPAC, the National Post, Montreal Gazette, Toronto Star, Calgary Herald, Edmonton Journal, Edmonton Sun, Calgary Sun, iPolitics, Blacklock’s Reporter, Corus Entertainment and professional journals including Canadian HR Reporter

In addition to holding a Master Access and Privacy Professional (MAPP) designation, Sharon is a member of the Advisory Board of the Canadian Institute for Information and Privacy Studies; a member of the Health Information Management Program Advisory Committee, and a member of the National Privacy & Access Certification and Accreditation Advisory Board. She previously served as an Executive Member of the Canadian Bar Association Alberta Privacy and Access Law Section (2010-2012) and the National Advisory Committee for the University of Alberta IAPP Program, and was a finalist for the 2010 EWF Women of Influence Award.