Sunshine Summits

Sunshine-SummitThe Future of Access to Information in Canada

Mark your calendars for a full day of engaging discussion

In celebration of International Right to Know Day, PACC presents the Sunshine Summits to raise awareness and generate discussion about access rights and practices.

Sunshine Summits are your opportunity to learn about recent developments that affect your right to gain access to information. Meet the presenters, ask questions, and network with experts from government, industry and academia.

Don’t miss the 2014 Sunshine Summits!

  • Toronto – Monday – September 22  Agenda
  • Waterloo – Tuesday – September 23  Agenda
  • Calgary – Wednesday – September 24  Agenda

Registered guests may submit relevant questions to guest speakers including academic, government, and industry leaders ahead of time, for the speakers to address during the Sunshine Summit.

Interested in sponsoring or presenting at a future Sunshine Summit? Submit your proposal to events[at]

Previous Sunshine Summit speakers included:

  • Tamir Israel, CIPPIC — Samuelson-Glushko Canadian Internet Policy and Public Interest Clinic
  • Jill Clayton, Information and Privacy Commissioner of Alberta
  • Hon. Jonathan Denis, MLA, Minister of Justice and Solicitor General
  • Rod Fox, MLA, Wildrose Critic for Service Alberta
  • Linda McKay-Panos JD, Alberta Civil Liberties Research Centre
  • Sharon Polsky, MAPP, Privacy and Access Council of Canada
  • Brent Rathgeber, MP, Edmonton-St. Albert
  • Charles Rusnell , CBC Edmonton
  • Jennie Russell, CBC Edmonton
  • Brian Seaman, Alberta Civil Liberties Research Centre
  • Jason van Rassel, Calgary Herald
  • Marianne Alto, Acting Mayor, City of Victoria
  • Christina Crabtree, District of Maple Ridge
  • Darrell Evans, Canadian Institute for Information and Privacy Studies
  • Jay Fedorak, Assistant Privacy Commissioner (BC)
  • Dr. David Flaherty, Professor Emeritus
  • Murray Rankin, MP, Victoria
  • George Heyman,MLA
  • Kevin McArthur, CIRA and the Open Data Society of BC
  • Lamont Orange, Websense
  • Dr Christopher Parsons, University of Toronto
  • Stanley Tromp,  Journalist
  • Micheal Vonn, BC Civil Liberties Association
  • Rob Wipond, Journalist